The day I got my heart scanned!

The Boss made the appointment and gave me orders to leave work at 330pm today….to see her husband’s cardiologist…after I told her about my tightness in chest over the weekend.

Dr Alfred Cheng, is a tall man with a English accent and great personality. He was professional yet assuring and comforting in his ways. He was very certain (within the first 5 seconds he met me) that we should not have anything to worry about (about me having heart problems). But to be sure, he ordered a series of tests….

~ Heart scan:”just like how they scan your baby. Its not intrusive and painless” True enough and it was quite weird to hear my frog-like heartbeat over the speakers. I haven’t enough guts to look at the scan on the pc though.

~ ECG: ahh the usual

~ Treadmill: Had tons of wires taped on me, the blood pressure machine strapped on my arm. Wore the tiniest tee they could find, which was still still over-sized (a 10 year old Terry Fox run t-shirt which looked really new) and had to do a double knot on the huge running shoe, to prevent it from slipping. Dr Cheng came in at the last part of my jog and was really amazed to see me jogging without breathlessness and told me to have fun. Even the nurses were impressed and told me that some younger man who came earlier, couldn’t even manage the brisk walk mode!

At the end of the torture session, Dr Cheng sat me down to explain the reports. I don’t have heart attack(contrary to what I had believed), in fact, I have a very strong heart with no blockage whatsoever (no heart attacks for sure!) and my heart valves are working fine. In fact, I don’t even fit thinly through the profile of high risk people. He prescibled me ….”ta dang’ gastric pills!!!!! Good thing the company is paying for it,otherwise I would feel even worst (apart from feeling like an air head) after listening to his diagnosis.

Anyhow, at least I got my heart checked. I’ve always harbour thoughts, especially when I go jogging or late at night, that my heart might just give way and I’d never open my eyes to see my daughter again. So that’s one thing down, but I still need to get to the roots of the tightness in my chest and irregular heart beats every now and then. Detailed blood test is up next!

Tags:

Leave a comment